One Month In Japan

Hello all,

It’s hard to believe, but I’ve already been in Japan 4 weeks now. I think with all the traveling I’ve been doing within the country it feels like time has really flown by. Anyway, I thought I would jot down some of the highlights and other random tidbits regarding my trip so far.

Also, today was my last full day in Aoshima so I went to the Udo Jingu shrine, located about 45 minutes away by bus. The shrine is cut into the cliffs of the Nichinan coastline, and is known through legend as the birthplace of the ancient first emperor of Japan. It was a really windy day, so the waves hit the rocks below and sprayed sea water quite high up. I’ll intersperse some pictures I took between my list below. Hope you enjoy!

After one month in Japan:

Number of times I’ve eaten sushi: I think around 7. Not that much, mainly because most Japanese don’t eat sushi that often here, partly because it’s expensive.

Number of total places (cities, towns, short day-trips) I’ve been to so far: 15.

Tied-up prayers overlooking the ocean

Tied-up prayers overlooking the ocean

Favorite Japanese food so far: Japanese curry! You should definitely try it sometime. Quite different from Indian curry, but very delicious.

Strangest thing I’ve eaten so far: Probably the raw octopus sushi in Kanazawa. It wasn’t bad actually, just very hard to chew and swallow…

Udo Jingu shrine below

Udo Jingu shrine below

Best weather: Nagasaki. Separated from the typhoon currents and major humidity, Nagasaki is extremely pleasant.

Worst weather: Nothing’s been too poor so far, but I guess Tokyo was a bit too humid and cloudy (which is expected for the end of September). I’ve heard Tokyo is very clear though towards the end of November (when I return), if not a little cold.

Friendlist place: Probably Kyushu (the southernmost mainisland, where I am now). I think it’s because people are more laid back here, but Nagasaki and Aoshima have been extremely welcoming.

Least friendly place: I haven’t really had any unfriendly experiences so far, but if I had to choose, maybe Okayama because everyone seemed a bit more harried and in a rush than elsewhere (except maybe Tokyo).

Waves crashing underneath Udo Jingu shrine

Waves crashing underneath Udo Jingu shrine

Best place I’ve visited so far: As of now, I’d say it’s a toss-up between Miyajima (the floating gate) and Nagasaki. Both were really fascinating – Miyajima for its iconic photographic opportunities and amazing view at sunset, and Nagasaki for the friendly people (including my awesome hostel staff who took me out several times) and the night view from Mt. Inasa.

Places I’m most looking forward to visiting in the next month: Beppu (tomorrow!), Kyoto (heard so many good things from other people traveling here), Mt. Koya (spending the night in a Buddhist temple on a mountain), and of course returning to Tokyo since there’s so much still to see there.

Torii gate of Udo Jingu

Torii gate of Udo Jingu

That’s all for now! It’s been an eye-opening 4 weeks for me, from seeing an immense spectrum of sights to meeting all kinds of people. I can’t wait for the next 6 weeks of my trip, and am looking forward to seeing and experiencing even more new things.

Thank you,

Utsav

Extra pics from Udo Jingu shrine:

One thing to do at the shrine is throwing small clay balls into a circular area on a rock below. Lots of fun! Supposed to be for good luck. I unfortunately didn't land one in!

One thing to do at the shrine is throwing small clay balls into a circular area on a rock below. Lots of fun! Supposed to be for good luck. I unfortunately didn’t land one in!

They sure love coloring their shrines in vermilion here

They sure love coloring their shrines in vermilion here

 

3 responses to “One Month In Japan

  1. Loved to read today’s blog> synopsis of your trip so far., it was a treat for the eyes to look at amazing pics. again. Looking forward to your next update. Take Care

  2. Can’t believe it’s been 1 whole month since u left for Japan. I know time is flying by fast for u but for us it has come to a stand still…miss u 😢
    Look fwd to ur msg & blog everyday…gr8 job!
    Luv always & take care ❤
    JSK,
    Mom ❤

  3. Bittudada, most important thing of your visit is the
    exposure you got so far. It will go a long way in your
    life. When you get such kind of exposure, your whole
    outlook changes, specially towards the people. I am
    happy to note that you are enjoying thoroughly your
    valued visit to Japan. You have summed up your visit
    so far so nicely. I must say that you have a vision.

Leave a Reply

