Kanazawa – Seafood Paradise

Hi all,

I spent the last day and a half in Kanazawa, a medium-sized city on the west coast of Japan’s main island. Known for maintaining a traditional feel mixed with modern advances, Kanazawa has a lot to offer in a variety of forms. From its compact geisha district, to its famous garden, and lastly of course its seafood.

Starting off, I arrived in Kanazawa in the early evening on Wednesday, and spent all night hanging out with my 2 Japanese roommates. They were both around my age, and were very excited that I could converse with them in Japanese since their English was poor. I still have a lot of room to improve my Japanese speaking ability, so any chance I can get to practice it is great. After we got dinner, we bought some beers and snacks and had our own little party at the hostel.

Me, Seki, and Ryo

Me, Seki, and Ryo

It really was a great learning experience. One of them, Ryo, has been riding on his scooter and traversing Japan for the past few weeks. The other, Seki, is a big outdoors person and just hiked through the Japanese Alps. It’s great meeting all kinds of people while traveling, which is why I think hostels/guesthouses are the way to go.

Moving on, today I took care of the sightseeing I wanted to do in Kanazawa. I went to the Kenrokuen Garden, one of the top three gardens in Japan. It was superbly well-manicured, and the clear weather today allowed for great views of the garden’s  ponds, groves, bridges, and the like.

Kenrokuen Garden

Kenrokuen Garden

More of the garden

More of the garden

It was quite crowded because it looked like several elementary and middle school kids were on field trips there. It was really entertaining to walk past them. Often, some of them would yell ‘Hello!’ (or more like, ‘Herro’) because they wanted to say something in English. I would then respond in Japanese, which was always fun because of their surprised reactions.

Then in the evening, our hostel owner took a few of us guests around town, and then we all went for sushi. As the post title mentions, Kanazawa is quite famous for its fresh seafood, and particularly its sushi is very high quality. Needless to say, the sushi was incredible. I had quite a lot of raw tuna, mackerel and salmon, and even one piece of raw octopus (took a while to chew that one!).

What am I eating?

What am I eating?

I visited a couple other parts of Kanazawa during the day as well, including the small geisha district and the modern art museum. All in all, Kanazawa was a very welcoming city with great scenery and even better food.

Tomorrow, I’m heading west/southwest to Okayama, the beginning of my Western and Southern Japan route.

Thanks as always,

Utsav

More pics:

Crazy sky outside Kanazawa

Crazy sky outside Kanazawa

Narrow streets in geisha district

Narrow streets in geisha district

Outside the modern art museum

Outside the modern art museum

Glass exterior of Kanazawa Station

Glass exterior of Kanazawa Station

5 responses to “Kanazawa – Seafood Paradise

  1. As usual in awe of ur experiences & quite amazed at u being adventurous with various foods…way to go Bittu 👍
    Luv u & miss u but contour enjoying ur trip & regaling us abt ur sojourns!
    JSK,
    Mom ❤

  2. Amazing sushi, awesome sightseeing, meeting interesting people.
    Life is good! When I read your posts, I feel like I am there, or seen these places before. Good descriptive posts. Keep it coming, we all love it. Good luck on your next stop, be safe.

  3. As usual, enjoying reading your posts. You write very well and your observations are very interesting…..keep them coming!! Have fun and safe travels…

  4. Kanazawa is quite interesting, a mix of old & new culture. It’s good
    you liked the sea food, so no problem. In Geisha house, do they
    demonstrate how to wear the Geisha outfit, if so, pl send some
    pictures. Your picture quality is simply superb.

Leave a Reply

